Sunday, September 19, 2010

Hi, I'm anne....Ian?...No, Anne.....What?......You can call me Gulianna.....


So last week’s adventure was sea kayaking and it definitely was an adventure. Last night we had a bbq so we started drinking quite early. (There’s very little to do here. Either go to bed or get drunk. I consistently choose the latter.) Anyway the drinking games began about 7 and around about 1 am we had finished an entire box of wine. That’s right BOXED WINE. After an involuntary swim and more games I finally went to bed. I had to wake up at 7:30……..I did NOT like that and I was definitely not looking my loveliest.

We go to the beach to get in our kayak when the guide explains that the island is 5 kilometers

away. Oh, and we have to do a return trip too. But we aren’t just going the 5 K there and back. We need to do about 3 extra because it’s much prettier. Let’s be honest….I am probably unable to tell the difference between the good and bad part of the island. It’s an island off the coast of Australia, it’s legit………But anyway, she’s on the ground showing us the correct way to paddle and all I can seem to do is look around to figure out where the nearest bathroom is in case I get sick. This hangover had super powers. It wasn’t like a normal one…….it was like a hangover that had done steroids for a few years and then gone pro. So we begin paddling, and I quickly learn that not only am I not a camper, but I’m also not a paddler. This guide was watching me like a hawk, which was kind of good seeing as Jill and I had already worked out what side of the boat to puke over so we didn’t flood the kayak. BUDDY SYSTEM…..thank you girl scouts! Anyway we finally make it and we go for a snorkel……..actually quite cool. Greatest cure for a hangover……a 6 KM kayak and a 2 hour snorkel…..no worries guys….I FOUND THE CURE.

So after that little incident……I gave up on the water for a while. Then, for some reason I thought that a $5 dinner night that we provided was a great idea. I was thinking maybe 5 or 10 people would want to do it. Well, 24 signed up. That’s right….I had to cook for 24 people. Tacos it is. I have never been more scared. All I could think about was the kanga curry incident. I certainly did not want an encore. But it all worked out and we all had a romantic Mexi dinner together.

The last story is by far the best. So before I started, they asked if I had a driver’s license. Well I do, obviously, as does every other 16 year old in the states. So I show up and ask for a bar night and they explain that I can just take the bus. Well I can’t drive the bus because it’s a stick shift. So one of the managers thinks it’s a great idea to take me for a driving lesson. So I’m driving on the wrong side of the car……the opposite side of the road…..attempting a manual….with my left hand……in a 12 seater van. The fear on this man’s face was unlike anything I’ve ever seen. It was bad. Needless to say, after stalling the van 3 times and almost hitting 4 people, I don’t think he’ll take me for another lesson…..ever. I would feel bad, but this way I get to drink......and that's always the best way to go.

3 comments:

  1. Somehow I don't think the "hangover cure" will become the rage. Popularity is not in its destiny, at least for the faint of heart. Hooray, I get to see your mom and dad today. Hotty Totty (is that how you spell it) team was not so hot yesterday, but they (not the team) get to stop here today, and she will finally get her birthday present which I bought two months ago. So much for thinking ahead. I agree that being the DD is not what you want to be, and not knowing the stick shift routine saves you from it. Keep writing because I love reading. Love much, Nanie

    ReplyDelete
  2. very glad i was not in that van and i'm sure you didn't try too hard to catch on so you wouldn't get stuck with driving duties... miss you and have fun! we had a great time at your parents tent this past weekend, but it was weird without you!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Okay, do you read these things??? OMG!! Today is your birthday; actually, for you it was yesterday, and I don't have an address or any way to let you know I've thought about you many times today, which is really September 28. I hope you celebrated in the traditional Fields/Drown way. Oops, I guess I could do Facebook if I knew how to do a birthday greeting. Love you much, Nane

    ReplyDelete