Saturday, August 21, 2010

"We want to start using australian words, what's the most popular aussie phrase?"........"Um, fuck off."

Yesterday was quite dreary. We woke up and everyone kind of wandered around the house and
we got a little bit excited, thinking that we couldn’t do any work outside because of the rain. No such luck. We got to go to some of Andrew’s rental properties…..SCORE. So, everyone who knows me, understands that I despise cleaning with a burning passion. I love when things are clean, I just don’t want to be the one to do it. When we were moving out of the Oxford house, I had no problems packing up 4 years of crap into unimaginable numbers of boxes for 3 days straight, but those last 5 hours that were spent cleaning, wiping down baseboards, and using the magic eraser to clean the walls, WERE HELL. Well Jill doesn’t feel that way. The first day we were here everyone asked what we liked to do. I replied with cooking (We all know how that turned out) and Jill explained that she liked to clean. Well since the dinner disaster, I have been forced onto the cleaning crew with Jill. I don’t really think I have to say it, but I will. I am not happy. Since we’ve been here, we have cleaned out the kitchen, the bathrooms, and the dishes…..everyday….3 times a day. So we go to the rental property and Andrew wants us to clean the house. What do I get to do? Wipe down the baseboards and get the marks off the wall. The irony is almost too much to handle…..

We did get to go to a Koala sanctuary. This one was my favorite because it looks like yoda, or as manny refers to him, YOGA. I’ve decided I need to bring one home with me. They’re just too cute. I’m pretty sure they’re endangered but I can just smuggle one in. The fine can’t be that much more than illegal French wine……

Today was our free day. I slept super late, 8:15, and we both got up and showered. I’m pretty sure the guys had to do a double take because we weren’t in our usual t-shirts, with slicked back hair and what seemed like a negative amount of make up. Cameron works here at the house. He has a van. He also sleeps in this van. We needed a ride to the train station and Cam offered, and we gladly accepted. So this van seems to be older than I am, and to be honest I didn’t even know it still ran. We were about to jump in when he goes, “just a sec, she’s been acting a little dodgy lately.” And he literally starts to push the van down the hill so that it will start. It was straight out of Little Miss Sunshine. I seriously cannot make this stuff up.

After the "van incident," we jump on a train to Brisbane and kind of wander around for a while. We start towards the city and go into a casino. No worries though, I didn’t spend a dime. Then we decide we want to walk all down the river and maybe go to a museum. We stop by this performing arts center to use the bathroom, immediately spot wine, and spend the entire day drinking and listening to 16 year olds sing. It was wonderful, and you know what……I bet that river will still be there when we come back.


1 comment:

  1. Make that TWO koalas you need to sneak back with you. We need one! ;)

    ReplyDelete