Thursday, August 26, 2010

Life's a Beach

This past weekend was quite relaxing….for the most part. Sunday we woke up, really psyched to

go to the Gold Coast. Well everyone was a bit hungover, except us because we never go out, so we got a bit of a late start. But needless to say, we made it out there. It reminded me a bit of Miami except without the guidos and guidettes 10 deep everywhere you look. And speaking of Miami, there is actually a Miami, QLD that we were in for quite some time, which confused me a bit until I did a total recap of the past two weeks, and realized that I had indeed moved to Australia. We walked along the beach and jill got her infamous mint ice cream, which I think was a little insane because it felt like it was 40 degrees outside. The beach when it’s cold is just not as much fun.

Sunday night was pretty eventful. We all got alcohol to bring back to the house….we were drinking boxed wine….classy, eh? Cam suggested cards when my gambling addiction emerged and I suggested we start playing poker for money, WEIRD. So I was $2 away from cleaning out everyone at the table when Cameron and Manny started fighting. I’m still pretty confused about what happened, but all I know is they were talking about some girl….then they were outside……then I was pulling Manny up the mountain out of the bush. Good times at the farm…..good times.

So, we decided to head to the beach where it wasn’t 4 degrees outside. Our flight was at 7 am, so we did the obvious thing and camped out at the airport. Probably one of our worst ideas ever. We jumped on the train which we learned immediately after boarding, didn’t go all the

way to the airport that time of night…….i mean, it’s us, I would expect nothing less. Then we get halfway there and had to jump in a cab and arrived at Brisbane international about 1 am. We try the first door….locked…then the second….locked. We start to freak out just a bit because is has now begun to monsoon outside. Finally, we find an open door and there is not one airport worker in sight. Literally…..every light was out and there was a man vacuuming. RIDIC. So we did what any normal human would do and found a comfy bench and CAMPED OUT AT THE AIRPORT, like legit homeless people. Needless to say, not the best night of sleep I’ve ever had. At least I wasn’t outside in my backyard, huh, Andrew?

We finally arrived in Cairns, and apparently it’s a gorgeous flight in, not that I would know because I was passed out cold before we even took off. We got here and moved in with the guys….walked around a while……and went back to sleep yet again. It’s amazing how excited I was to see a bed. Like meeting the wizard at the end of the yellow brick road. The beach and a bed……HELL YEA. We went out last night and I’m not going to lie….it felt a bit like Spring Break, people dancing on tables and ripping shots. It was AWESOME. And we actually stayed awake passed 11…….i was so proud. We are attempting to find jobs and a place to live, AGAIN. Turns out I’m overqualified for everything. The only thing they want on my resume is Isabella’s Pizzeria. I knew grad school was a waste of money…..



1 comment:

  1. So worth waiting for. I get a better feeling of your experience from the blog than our hurried conversations, although I love them, too. James at work said you were hot, so he can't ever get near you, but he also said to tell you that Tim McGraw and Faith Hill, and family are touring Australia soon, so I think how ironic if you meet a couple from LA and MS in Australia. Look for them soon. Did Grace tell you that stupid Jevan Snead was re-signed? Apparently, the guy that beat him out was injured in pre-season, so they got him back. Can't wait to watch that trainwreck!Love and miss you. Jennifer Lynne asked about you when I called her to regret the invite to Tori & Bryan Johnston's baby shower, as does everyone. Keep the pix and blogs coming. We are all addicted!

    ReplyDelete