Sunday, October 17, 2010

Are There crocs in there? Oh just a few and they aren't that big.....


Hello all…….sorry I haven’t written in a while but there really hasn’t been anything too exciting going on! Mission Beach is still great and I got to play tour guide this morning to a sales rep. Which was fun until we went for a boat ride and I came off looking as if I had been submerged for a good 10 minutes. So much for showering today. I then spent the rest of my day at the beach reading…….i KNOW, life is SO hard.

The other day we had a bit of excitement. So we go about 10 minutes north to play beach volleyball every week. (And I have become a PRO by the way, so next time we’re in FL….IT IS SO ON) Well I was with my friend Carla and we decided that we wanted to jog back. Seeing as I

haven’t worked out since I came here, I thought that was a great idea. Between the volleyball court and home, there is a small creek. And apparently at high tide…..is isn’t so much a small creek as a raging river. Carla decides it can’t be that deep so she starts to cross it. Well, the first 3 steps are fine….then she takes the fourth one and is up to he shoulders about to drown. (which I though was ironic seeing as that’s my name) She comes back and we assess the situation. She explains that we should cross upriver and I explain that I’m not doing it. Well she runs across immediately so we are now on opposite sides of this death trap. After about 15 minutes of threats, on Carla’s end, I swim across.

Thinking that was it, I was so relieved. But then, we both realize that we’ve gone too far upriver and now have to trek the 40 meters through the rainforest, at dusk, barefoot, in the land of all things can kill you. So I ran like the most spastic creature any human has ever seen and made it out alive. We walked back to the hostel where everyone had extremely confused looks on their faces because we went for a beach jog and returned sopping wet with mud up to our knees. We then learn that the "creek" is full of crocs. Of course it is, why wouldn't it be. Thank you Australia…….you win again.


No comments:

Post a Comment